December 31, 2011

  • 2011 Year in review

    EDIT: Had this feeling as this post went up that something really, really BIG was not on my list, but kept telling myself that asking for anything else to add to this list was just being greedy and ungrateful for all of the other blessings on it. Well, deserving of any more blessings or not, there was another really HUGE one to add–son became engaged to the sweetest soul on the planet!

    Looking back on this past year, just hitting the highlights:

    • A stress echo test before surgery at the beginning of the year showed my heart is doing its job nicely.
    • Marching on our state capitol to save funds dedicated for domestic violence for Valentines Day with several hundred of my MK galpals made me feel like I was really making a difference.
    • Had an awesome experience at women’s church retreat with our beloved associate pastor before she retired in August.
    • MK Career conference in Galveston with some of my most favorite galpals was also a blast!
    • A trip to the hill country with my sweetie for our all-church retreat weekend (while the wildflowers were in bloom as an added bonus) was such a blessing.
    • Got another painting completed for the George Washington Carver Museum silent auction to help out with their neighborhood education programs.
    • Hallway baseboards finally got painted and installed after the wood floor went down with a LOT of help from son-in-law and his dad’s tools.
    • Lost a dear friend that taught me a lot about maintaining faith and a sense of humor no matter what life throws at you.
    • Now have a CPAP machine to help keep me breathing while I sleep and got it just in time to pack and take it with me to Dallas for MK seminar.
    • Had a wonderful respite from the more than 90 days of high temps in the 100′s and lots of good times while driving with daughter and son-in-law to YankeeLand to visit my family of origin.
    • MK Fall Advance (we NEVER retreat!) here in town was another great opportunity to connect with my galpals and get educated, motivated and inspired.
    • Got the hot tub restored to fully functional condition AND brought the electrical stuff up to code.
    • Was honored to meet some very talented folks AND have a chance to donate products and services to several great causes, including: Susan Korman Breast Cancer Foundation, Toys for Tots and Keri’s Fairy Godmother Foundation.

    Not to mention ordinary, everyday things like:

    • My very own Donkey to help with all kinds of stuff and do thoughtful, nice things for me.
    • Having dinner with daughter and her hubby along with other family gatherings, too.
    • Attending Network activities, Book and Bible study groups
    • Keeping in touch with my Xanga and FaceBook friends
    • Volunteer work with the coolest people on the planet at UPLift
    • Getting to meet more lovely ladies that want to be a part of my Mary Kay business


    Wow…I really AM blessed!
    Wishing all of YOU a blessed 2012!!!

Comments (3)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *