July 2, 2011

  • Thanks to everyone

    thankblessing

    Today’s e-devotional (below) got me thinking about the legacy than not only our parents, but other family members, friends and sometimes even total stangers leave us that makes us who we are. I am sure that the passing of a dear friend who always seemed to know how to bring out the best in everyone around her has a lot to do with this, but I just wanted to take a moment to say thank you to all of my internet friends who have also helped me to become who I am today. May God bless you with others to enrich your life the way you have mine…

    Today’s Scripture

    Jesus said, “I will not leave you as orphans; I will come to you. Before long, the world will not see me anymore, but you will see me. Because I live, you also will live. On that day you will realize that I am in my Father, and you are in me, and I am in you.”

    -John 14:18-20 (NIV)

    EVEN though I was an adult when my parents died, I felt a keen sense of what it was like to be an orphan. Gone were the two people who had nurtured me and shaped my life. Sharp grief gave way to bewilderment: Who am I now? Who knows me deeply yet loves me anyway? The Gospel of John recounts Jesus telling his disciples that although the time is coming that they will see him no more, he will always be a part of them, just as they will forever be part of him.

    And so it has been with my parents. I see now that even after their deaths, their example of loving-kindness continues to teach me and guide my life. That goes deeper than just warm memories. My parents are in me at a deep level, deeper than the mind can comprehend, as deep as the heart. And surely God was their heart’s teacher.

    In the same way, I come to know God through the life and love of Jesus. Nurturing that relationship through prayer and study, giving and serving, keeps me forever connected to the living God.

    Linda Tatum (North Carolina, USA)

    Prayer

    Gracious God, let who we are reflect who you are, in all that we do. Amen.

    Prayer Focus

    Someone grieving a parent’s death

Comments (5)

  • I especially miss my parents on holidays…It has never been the same without my Dad. 

    This weekend brings to mind the good time we had when you were here to share our 4th of July celebration with us.  It was a most memorable holiday for sure.

  • @dingdongdingbat - i was remembering that, too! the video that doc took and donkey posted on youtube will be the closest we get to fireworks this year–the drought is so bad here now that we have a burn ban for most of central texas. some of our dear friends nearly lost their home (decorated with such lovely art) when a wildfire started by a transient’s unattended campfire in a wooded area on the border of their neighborhood consumed homes less than a block from theirs. usually, i adore the proximity of nature but right now, i am wishing we did not live so close to several hundred acres of wooded land…

  • Hi, Flash.  Thanks for stopping by.  My computer is working now, but every time I look up at the screen, I still expect to see some kind of virus message!    I hope you had a good Fourth, and that you have gotten some rain.

    Kathi

  • Hey there Hi there Ho there! How’s it going in the Lone Star State?

  •          ribbit

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *